973.276.0444
menu

Review Summary
Eero Aarnio Ball Chair   $1,899.00
4.5
36 Reviews
5
64% (23)
4
22% (8)
3
14% (5)
2
0% (0)
1
0% (0)
94% Recommend this product (34 of 36 responses)
By Tatterscratch
Midlothian, Virginia
Review for Eero Aarnio Ball Chair
March 30, 2021
Don't be tempted by lesser reproductions of this classic chair - The Inmod ball chair is carefully-designed and sturdily made. The designer's attention shows in such small but eye-pleasing details as the gently tapered roll of the upholstery at the chair's mouth, and the ball swivels smoothly on its substantial roller bearings with just a light push. The plastic smell that a few people have mentioned in their reviews is initially present but fairly unobtrusive, and it will fade in a matter of days as the upholstery is allowed to breathe. Although it isn't openly mentioned as an option, I encourage buyers who would prefer custom upholstery to contact the friendly and helpful Inmod staff, who can accommodate materials such as velvet for a uniquely personal touch. As someone who is very attuned to small details, I was initially skeptical about what I would find when I unpacked my Inmod ball chair. But as particular as I am, this chair actually exceeded my expectations, and will shortly become the first thing guests see when they enter my home. Well done, Inmod!
By Anne
Montreal
Review for Eero Aarnio Ball Chair
January 11, 2021
?tonnamment spacieuse ? l’int?rieur, avec un faible encombrement. Pivote tr?s facilement.
By Sheng
Rockwall, TX
Inmod has it all
January 26, 2020
Surprised I've never seen this chair in person before visiting inmod! The design is super futuristic and retro at the same time. I love it.
By Michael
Denver, CO
PHENOMENAL!
January 9, 2020
The glossy orange with the green upholstery is SOOO DIFFERENT! Nothing else like it around. It's actually becoming more of an attraction than the "la chaise" I ordered from here last year, which was a real head turner. Thanks!
By Jason
Portsmouth , NH
the waiting game
January 9, 2020
As much as I appreciate the choice of customizing, I felt impatient while waiting for this chair to arrive. Customer service reassured me it would come, but it felt like it took a lifetime to get here. Happy that it is here now though!
By Katie
Sarasota, FL
absolutely the most wonderful chair
December 29, 2019
YUP! Pretty much the best chair I've ever sat in! Love that I own one myself now!
By Jennifer
Lewis Center, OH
this chair is badass!
December 10, 2019
This chair is so FREAKING COOL! I ordered in blue and it feels like I am inside of a spaceship everytime I sit down. The swivel base is definitely a nice feature (which I didn't know it came with until after). Don't let the unique design intimidate you! If I would have allowed it, I wouldn't be jumping for joy at how much I love this chair!
By Jay
Boulder, CO
modern upgrade / colors
May 31, 2019
My first time seeing this chair in wolf grey, this is what I was looking for in terms of color for the ball chair. Perfect timing as I am furnishing my living room for a modern upgrade - thank you!
By Christopher
Seattle, WA
scale
May 31, 2019
I never fail to order something I love that seems to not be proportionate to the surrounding furniture! Basically, scale is the issue here. The measurements are accurate, but it looks a tad out of place with my low-level furnishings.
By Donna
Commerce, MI
love it!!
January 23, 2019
I for one LOVE that this chair makes a BIG statement - it's fantastic!
By Stephen
Washington, DC
stands out a lot
January 23, 2019
I love this chair but it really stands out a lot in my house, i gotta find other furniture that helps tone it down a bit
By Rachael
Nazareth, PA
Fab Chair; Ordered a Matching Second One
November 27, 2018
I took my time when deciding to order this chair. I was swayed by the reviews as well as the description of the product and the varied choices for upholstery. I ordered a white shell with "steel grey" upholstery. I LOVE the upholstery. It is very tweed-like. I waited until I received the chair until I ordered a second, identical chair as I wanted to be assured the quality was as high as I anticipated. Since it was, I ordered the second chair pronto, and it is scheduled to arrive in a few weeks. These chairs are well worth the wait! If you are on the fence, you can feel confident ordering as I am extremely particular quality-wise. TIP: REQUEST FABRIC SAMPLES!!! Inmod was so helpful early on in my decision process as they promptly mailed me fabric samples which were CRUCIAL in my making the right fabric choice. I highly recommend ordering the free samples as this is a fairly high ticket item so it is worth waiting the extra few days for the samples.
Prosgorgeous chair quality-wise and visually fab upholstery choices
Conslong wait but worth it!!!
By Deborah
Los Angeles, CA
all time favorite chair
October 12, 2018
Can't get enough of this chair! I'm sitting in it right now as I write this review and it is comfortable, cozy and the best seat in the house!
By Christine
Pinecrest, FL
bulky
October 12, 2018
Bulkier than I imagined it would be, sort of looks out of place amongst my other furniture
By Elisabeth
Cleveland, OH
Stunningly high quality in customizable Ball Chair
September 27, 2018
I've wanted a Ball Chair since I was a little girl, and now I have one! Perfect for introverts, writers, and those who enjoy quiet ... and a simple way to add a private space to an otherwise open floorplan. I bought this Ball Chair and the matching side chair from Inmod in the same off-white body and grey custom fabric and they match perfectly and both are gorgeous! The wool fabric is very sturdy and thick ... think institutional-grade upholstery. Before ordering I also got a lot of help from Inmod's awesome customer support on the actual dimensions for the (very large) Ball Chair. Originally I wanted this to go into a bedroom at our house up two flights of stairs ... but there was no way the chair was going to fit ... and Inmod's team was very cool about helping me come to terms with that fact. So instead we made a place for the Ball Chair on our first floor ... as our front door was the only one in our house with a doorframe large enough to accommodate. This is actually better than our original idea as visitors to our home enjoy it when they come through! So happy with this purchase ... and with Inmod.
By Tyler
Mesa, Arizona
Nice Chair But Took Forever to Receive
September 15, 2018
This is a cool iconic chair and definitely a conversation piece. We opted for the white gloss shell and mellow yellow fabric which looks great in our home. Ordered the chair beginning of May and didn't receive until beginning of September. So if you are in a hurry, this might not be the best option for you. What was especially irritating is the fact that you get an email notification saying it will take between 4-6 weeks to ship from China to NJ after you wait 8-10 weeks for them to make it. Then once it reaches the NJ facility from China it takes another 4 weeks for them to make sure there's no damage and ship out from NJ? After that, it took the transit company another 3 weeks to drive it from NJ to Phoenix.. We called a couple times for updates and customer support was great anytime we had a question. Quality of fabric is decent but cushions seem like they are not filled completely with material which makes the fabric look loose. All in all, decent chair, decent price, crazy slow shipping.
ProsLooks nice
ConsSlow shipping
By Arnisha
Athens, OH
blown away!
July 5, 2018
Surprised at how low the cost is now that it's here, it's amazingly well-made and quality is impeccable
By Emily
Brighton, MA
heavy
July 5, 2018
Heavier than I hoped it would, I had some trouble moving it around to see where I wanted to place it
By Julie
Rochester, NY
1960s chic
May 23, 2018
loved the ability to create my own color combination while still maintaining that iconic mod style - 1960s are back in home decor at least among me and my friends - seeing it pop up everywhere and so happy to finally own one myself!
By Azy
Potomac Falls, VA
best seat in the house
May 4, 2018
If you own one of these chairs best to know beforehand that EVERYONE LOVES this chair and EVERYONE wants to sit in it! It's a favorite - happy to own one!
Prosattractive appealing comfy
By Deb
San Mateo, CA
Bulky best to pair with a few taller furnishings
May 4, 2018
Bulkier than I thought it would be! Very cool design that i've had my eye on for a while but does take up a decent amount of space, best to have enough room for this chair to not look overwhelming in a space. Plus, I think having taller furnishings like bookshelves would help complement it.
By Max
San Francisco, CA
swivel feature a huge plus, <3 inmod was a great recommendation
March 30, 2018
I was told inmod was the place to go to purchase a ball chair for the best price and quality, it took a little longer than expected to arrive but it was worth the wait - it is wonderful! The feature I didn't realize it had was the swivel base which was a HUGE plus! Find this chair to be the best purchase I've made in a long time
By Carmen
Lake Forest Park, WA
Iconic
March 27, 2018
I love this chair but never thought I would be able to own such a well made quality version. I ordered the cardinal red wool fabric - we have had it a few months and it has held up well. It's a conversation piece in our living room and my kids love it too. Super stylish, bold, and beautiful. Love it!
By Damien
Kansas City, MO
A real TREAT!!
February 27, 2018
Super duper cushy!! Love the soft cushions and internal padding, it's like having a personal sanctuary to retreat in, a treat to own!!
By Irma
Pflugerville, TX
what i wanted for a while, a little large looking
February 27, 2018
Size looks a little larger than I expected alongside my other furnishings but I've wanted a ball chair for a long time so I'm not going back!!
By John
Dallas, TX
retro style & futuristic wrapped into ONE!
February 6, 2018
A life size and functional toy! I seriously feel like a kid in a candy store whenever I visit this site, this chair is my little reading and relaxing nook with a futuristic spin - couldn't believe the price either - 100% SATISFIED!
By Amanda
Chicago, IL
met expectations in quality but special order took forever
February 6, 2018
This as a special order took WAY TOO long to arrive in my opinion - yes, it is what i wanted and yes I am happy with it but I am really not used to waiting months for a piece of furniture to arrive - HOWEVER, i went with INMOD because of the quality of their reproductions on ball chairs which i have to say lived up to their name regardless of the lengthy wait time
By Roger
Midland, TX
great gift for mod style lovers!!
December 5, 2017
my cousin said it was the best gift she ever received for any birthday ever! She absolutely adores interior decorating especially this modern style, I'm so happy she's happy and customer support was helpful throughout the entire process as I wanted everything to arrive in a timely manner and be perfect! Thank you so much!
By Riley
Fort Worth, TX
wow!! blown away by this design!
October 19, 2017
I was browsing for new furniture for my house and came across this, I knew I had to have it the second I saw it! It is amazing, best seat in the house, nothing compares!
By Ezra
Washington, DC
mod perfection
July 20, 2017
Been slowly redesigning my loft in a mod style, this piece really brought it all together! Thank you!
By Priscila
Everett, MA
perfect buy
June 29, 2017
feels like its own little nest, so happy with this reproduction, absolutely perfect
By Yolanda
West Chester, PA
surprise for my daughter!
May 14, 2017
i'm going to surprise my daughter when she gets home from summer camp by redesigning her entire room, I KNOW she is going to love this chair! even thinking of getting one for myself, its like having your own personal comfy nest to relax in :)
By Eunice
Miami, Florida
Love the Chair
April 21, 2017
After looking far and wide for these chairs for our employee lounge area, InMod came through. Our staff uses them daily for power nap breaks to rest they're eyes after being on a computer all day. So far they are very durable even with all the daily usage. Thank you InMod for the outstanding customer service, great price and fast delivery. Our employees truly love them.
By Kfir
Dallas, TX
top notch quality, design, and comfort
March 29, 2017
I've had this chair for almost two years now and I couldn't be more pleased. The construction is very sturdy, the stitching and lining is very high quality, and this thing stands the test of my two kids sometimes using it as a merry go-round (when I'm not looking). It's very heavy, and when you sit in it you feel like it is solid as it needs to be in order to last a very long time. I'm 200 pounds, and I feel completely at ease sitting in it when I watch TV or meditate. I've looked at other ball chairs online and read in reviews that they are not sturdy and eventually break, which is why I went ahead and spent extra to get one from modloft - it's the real deal...
By Dan
San Francisco, CA
The real thing
March 12, 2017
The retail world is littered with low quality reproductions - this is not one of them. We checked the dimensions when we ordered and hoped for the best, and we were extremely pleasantly surprised. Everything about this chair is spot-on - the dimensions, shape, look and feel, quality of the components, features like the swivel, etc. From the interior feel, cushions and you name it, we can't tell the difference from the ones we tried in Finland and the design shops. We're extremely pleased with it and are looking at putting more purchases through this store.
ProsIdentical to the original ball char - same shape (slightly more than half a sphere, curves in a little bit unlike the low quality reproductions). Same 5 slice fabric arrangement inside. Padded with foam under the fabric, good sized and comfortable cushions. Nice lacquered exterior, very uniform without manufacturing defects. Good swivel base with heavy screws and bearings which look very sturdy.
ConsLarger than we thought, even though we really measured twice. Make sure you really pay attention, this chair made it through our front door but not through the office door. Needs to vent a little bit when you take it out of the box, ours smelled a little bit like glue - the smell went away in a few days though.
By Collin
Bellingham, WA
Very Pleased with my purchase
November 11, 2016
Of course we all have dreams owning a ball chair. Finally i decided to shell out the money and get one sight unseen (orange and white). There was obviously concern that i was going to be unhappy with the quality. After i set it up, all my fears were laid to rest. It was shipped in a big box with the base not attached. The hardest part about getting it set up was all the protective bubble wrap. It is quite large, barely fit through my sliding glass door on my porch (Make sure to have a game plan for getting it inside) The rotating base is attached using two "roller bearings" and is extremely sturdy. Its nice and smooth and you can easily spin yourself in a circle. There isn't much back support for tall people (we just don't fit very well), so i added another pillow. My lady friends fit much better.
ProsDuel Roller Bearings in the swivel Solid and smooth finish Carpeted base Exciting to sit in Great conversation piece
ConsStrange smell for the first week or so No optional ottoman offered (I would have happily bought one) Difficult to get out of (But that is just a characteristic of all ball chairs) May need to add extra cushions for increased comfort

Page 1 of 1